Off the Clock by Laura Vanderkam

📚 Today I finished Off the Clock: Feel Less Busy While Getting More Done by Laura Vanderkam. I was half expecting a bunch of cheesey time hacks and was pleasantly surprised that it was more of an exploration of how we perceive time and strategies to improve our perception of time. Like taking time to slow down and savor pleasurable moments, and to revisit memories by looking a photo album or listening to a song you used to have on repeat.

She also describes a time resource version of Pay Yourself First, where you schedule time to do what matters to you most in the morning, before other people’s demands start taking over your day. Waking up 30 minutes earlier four days a week gives you two extra hours per week to do what matters most to you. Even if you make time by displacing other things that need to get done, doing it in the morning ensures that you have enough energy that it won’t get missed each day.

This really resonated with me, since I have started waking up earlier despite (mostly) eliminating my commute, allowing me to devote one or more hours each morning to reading, studying, and thinking before opening my work email and dealing with other obligations. Making some “me-time” in the morning hours has given my life a sort of balance that wouldn’t be possible if I was trying to cram that time into the evening hours when I’m tired and want to focus on having dinner and spending quality time with my partner.

If you have a few mintues, check out her TED Talk on time managment!